Menu ☰

Collector Car Newsletter

instagram icon twitter icon facebook icon search bar icon
car-of-the-year-group-2015.jpg

2018: A Year In Review

CAR of the YEAR Selected

Show More twirly-arrow

Welcome to our 2018 Year In Review where we take a moment to reflect on what we've accomplished this past year. Cars On Line.com publishes its annual Year In Review for newsletter readers and Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram followers. Join us in recapping some of the most memorable cars and car shows from 2018.

Vote for Car of the YearIn the weeks leading up to the New Year, our Cars-On-Line newsletter readers were asked to vote for their favorite cars from the past year in our CAR of the YEAR poll for 2018. Look for this icon (shown left). Each of the cars pictured below with this icon were candidates for CAR of the YEAR. Cars-On-Line.com newsletter readers chose this year's winner by voting for their favorites in the annual poll.

The voting was very close. A rare Starlight black 1970 Pontiac GTO Judge Ram Air IV was just announced as our CAR of the YEAR for 2018. Restore A Muscle Car out of Lincoln, Nebraska did the restoration on this highly-1970 Pontiac GTO Judge RA IVsought-after classic muscle car. It was featured in the September issue of the Cars-On-Line newsletter. With only test and tune miles on the beautiful GTO since its restoration they say it now runs and drives as a new vehicle. The original numbers matching RA IV 400 ci engine was also rebuilt at RAMC. RAMC owner Dave Hall has had Pontiacs since he was in high school. He tells us this one is a full numbers matching example acquired from a private collection. He decided that the engine really needed to be rebuilt and brought back to the performance of its glory days. So the experts at RAMC put the life back into this fire breathing legend. It is said that it now runs and drives like it did when it rolled out of the Pontiac, Michigan plant.

As we said the voting was incredibly close. The Ram Air IV GTO finished only two votes ahead another ultra rare muscle car, the 1970 Plymouth Hemi Superbird from Legendary Motorcar Company. Coming in third place was the 1933 Chrylser Imperial CL Dual Cowl Phaeton, a truly rare and beautiful vintage classic, also from Legendary Motorcar Company.

Here is a recap of what happened in 2018.

January 2018
xxx
Rare Packard Cabriolet

Show More twirly-arrow

The New Year started off with a bang in January 2018. Cars-On-Line.com was hoping for an uptick in collector car values for the year. When Daniel Schmitt & Company out of St Louis listed this 1936 Packard Twelve All-Weather Cabriolet, it was the perfect feature car for our Cars On Line newsletter in the first week of the New Year. It had been used in several Hollywood movies and was once owned by Charlie Chaplin. We also wrote a feature story on this car which can be found at one of the links in the newsletter (click on photo to read the newsletter.)

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

1970 Plymouth Hemi Cuda
1970 Plymouth Hemi Cuda

Show More twirly-arrow

Hemi Cudas are hot and very pricey in today's collector car market. On the second week of 2018 a 1970 Plymouth Hemi Cuda, one with increible provenance, became available for sale through a private collector out of Canada. It was one of the last cars built by Dean Nicopolis, a member of the legendary Ramchargers racing team. Click on the photo to follow the link to the story in the newsletter that second week of January. You can also access the MyDreamCar.online blog page where we included some detailed info on the Ramchargers from a historical viewpoint.

1970 Boss 429 Mustang
1970 Boss 429 Mustang

Show More twirly-arrow

A phenomena of the collector car market in the past five years saw Ford Boss 429 Mustangs surpass Chrysler Hemi cars in value. A private collector from Connecticut advertised his Grabber blue 1970 Boss 429 Mustang in the fourth week of January. What month for top rated muscle cars. As it rumbled out of the pages of our newsletter that week, we learned the difference between the S Code Boss 9's and the Z Codes, such as this one. You can revisit the extensive review in the MyDreamCar.online blog about this Boss 9. Also, this week we did a Market Trend review of the Results of the Barrett-Jackson Auction, comparing how prices increased by 17 percent at the 2018 auction. Click here to read the Cars-On-Line.com review of the Barrett-Jackson Auction results.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in January:

verticle spring
xxx

1936 Auburn 851 SC

Historic Cabriolet sold through COL in January

verticle spring
xxx

1971 Plymouth Cuda

A 1971 Plymouth Hemi Cuda, was one of the first cars sold in 2018,

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Chevelle SS LS6

Most popular Chevelle muscle car of all time, a 454/450 hp sold by a private seller out of Canada.

February 2018
xxx
1958 Chevrolet Cameo

Show More twirly-arrow

The 1958 Chevrolet Cameo Carrier featured in the third week of February 2018 was born to be a hot collectible truck. Not only was it the last year Chevrolet would produce the Cameo Carrier line, but it was the first year for Chevy Fleetside styling and the first year of the Apache package at Chevrolet. It was posted for sale by Ideal Classic Cars, a classic car dealer in Venice, Florida. It was a reminder that classic pickup trucks continue to be a hot trend in the collector car market in 2018. Click here for more history on the 1958 model Cameo Carrier and find out how it moved the pickup truck market back in the day.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in February:

verticle spring
xxx

1969 Dodge Daytona

Sale of a rare Mopar in first week of February. Only 503 ever bulit.

verticle spring
xxx

1955 Mercedes 300 SLR

A very rare 300 SLR Roadster, one of only 12 such replicas.

March 2018
xxx
Ridler Award Winner

Show More twirly-arrow

When a 1957 Chevy 150 Hardtop won the Ridler Award at the 2018 Detroit Autorama, Cars-On-Line.com was on hand to cover the event live for our readers. Click here to see how we announced the Ridler Award Winner from Cobo Arena in Detroit.

This was also the week we unveiled CarsOnLine.tv, our new video ad website where we show you the top video ads each week. Our video ad website changes everything you thought you knew about advertising a classic car. Videos can be added to any photo ad on the website at no extra charge.

xxx
1938 Jaguar SS 100

Show More twirly-arrow

In the first week of March 2018, the Cars-On-Line newsletter featured a 1938 Jaguar SS 100 3.5 Roadster once owned by TV personality Dave Garroway. It was, in fact, a great example of what we term as provenance. Jaguar only produced 118 of the SS 100's with the 3.5 Litre straight six cylinder OHV motor from 1938 to 1940. The celebrity car was listed by Gullwing Motor Cars in Astoria, New York. Click here to find out more about the rare SS 100 in a review on our MyDreamCar.online blog site. Also in this newsletter is a review of the 2018 Amelia Island Concours D'Elegance. Be sure to read the story and see photos and videos from the awards ceremony. You'll also read about the RM Sotheby's Auction at Amelia Island this year.

xxx
1951 Ford X-51

Show More twirly-arrow

A famous West Coast custom car was rediscovered in the second edition of the Cars-On-Line newsletter in March. When a California master bodyman decided to show Ford how to build a car America would love, he modified his 1951 Ford 2-Door Coupe which he had bought new just a few years before. His contribution to the West Coast car culture has been enjoyed by custom car enthusiasts for over 65 years. His must significant contribution was the introduction of fins. (Remember this was before Detroit discovered rear fins.) Be sure to review our story on this car in our MyDreamCar.online blog.

xxx
Rick Dore Lead Sled

Show More twirly-arrow

One of the best Mercury Lead Sleds was built by Rick Dore, Hall of Fame custom car designer and builder from California. In the last edition of the newsletter for March 2018, his personal 1950 Mercury Lead Sled was offered for sale. "There are a lot of Mercurys out there that have been customized," Dore said. "But, in my opinion, there are very few that have the look." Dore said this one does. It was offered for sale by Classic Car Marketing of Southern California. They told us the "corners have been rounded and the gaps are near perfect." It is one of the top cars to be listed on the Cars-On-Line website in 2018.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in March:

verticle spring
xxx

1967 Shelby GT500

Sold by a private seller from Monterey, Mexico

verticle spring
xxx

XXXX Xxxxxx

Sold a very original Nomad from St George, Utah

verticle spring
xxx

1966 Dodge Hemi Coronet

Original 426 hemi 4-spd, 40,000 original miles. Sold in March

verticle spring
xxx

1958 Corvette Roadster

Very sharp numbers matching example sold in North Carolina.

verticle spring
xxx

2016 Dodge Viper GTS

With only 300 miles, sold in Louisville OH

verticle spring
xxx

1961 Corvette Custom

One of the top customs in the country sold in Temecula, CA

verticle spring
xxx

1942 Lincoln Continental

One of only 27 left in existence, was sold in Michigan.

verticle spring
xxx

1966 Dodge Hemi Coronet

Everything new. Factory Hemi 4-spd car from California

April 2018
xxx
Chrysler Dual Cowl

Show More twirly-arrow

One of Chrysler's greatest achievements was this 1933 Chrysler Imperial CL Dual Cowl Phaeton. In our first newsletter in April, Legendary Motorcar Company was offering it for sale. Few cars can boast the provenance of this classic motorcar. It was owned by playboys and Hollywood movie stars. From 1985 to 1987 it underwent a full restoration at the hands of Richard Orchard, known for his concours restorations. For that period in hisotry, 1933 was the last year in which the Imperial was produced giving way to the new geneartion of Chrysler Airflows.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

xxx
1968 Shelby GT500 KR

Show More twirly-arrow

The 1968 Shelby GT500 KR Convertible was known to be Carroll Shelby's favorite Mustang. The GT500 KR was a one-year only model Shelby exclusively built in 1968. It featured the 428 ci Cobra Jet engine with heads and internals specially tuned. With a wink and a nod they rated it at 335 hp, but everyone knew it was way more powerful, probably around 450 horsepower. They only made 518 KR convertibles in 1968. The R Code cars came with a functional Ram Air scoop. Redesigned with fiberglass front end, hood, and rear end, the Shelby KR convertible came with the Mercury Cougar style sequential tail lights, and with an upgraded suspension

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in April:

verticle spring
1969 Dodge Charger R/T

1969 Dodge Charger R/T

Survivor, w/440 4-spd, solid unrestored treasure

verticle spring
1964 Corvette Pro Street

1964 Corvette Pro Street

Custom corvette from Lewes, DE sold in mid-April by private seller

verticle spring
2016 Shelby GT350

2016 Shelby GT350

Marked SOLD by a private seller from Florida

verticle spring
1971 Dodge Charger R/T

1971 Dodge Charger R/T

One of only 80 built with a 440 6 Pack 4-spd

verticle spring
1958 Chevy Impala Convertible

1958 Impala Convertible

Came with functioning factory "level air" ride

verticle spring
1957 Chevy Bel Air Convertible

1957 Chevy Bel Air

Beautiful convertible, a true piece of American art

verticle spring
xxx

1968 Hemi Road Runner

New York collector sold a real Plymouth Hemi Road Runner

May 2018
xxx
Hemi Challenger R/T

Show More twirly-arrow

By early May of this year it had become apparent that Hemi Challengers were overtaking Hemi Cudas in popularity among Mopar collectors. In an article about this 1970 Dodge Hemi Challenger R/T we cited recent search engine statistics which showed that there were more searches for Hemi Challengers than their cousins the Hemi Cudas. You will note that this particular Hemi Challenger R/T has the Shaker hood. The fact that not as many Hemi Challengers have survivied over the years makes them more rare. For a full report click here to read our MyDreamCar.online blog post.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

xxx
Rare Cyclone Spoiler

Show More twirly-arrow

When the second newsletter in May came out, the featured car was a 1969 Cale Yarborough Edition Mercury Cyclone Spoiler R Code with the 428CJ big block motor. The private seller from Murfreesboro, Tennessee collects aero cars. He owns the TalladegaSpoilerRegistry.com. It is the aero car registry for Ford and Mercury cars. Say he can tell you with authority that only 617 Cale Yarborough Spoilers were built. Of those there were only 28 Cale cars with the 428 CJ Ram Air and C6. This one has been featured in magazines and on TV shows.

xxx
Camaro Indy Pace Car

Show More twirly-arrow

Just in time for Memorial Day Weekend newsletter, this 1969 Camaro RS/SS Indy Pace Car Convertible was listed by Orlando Classic Cars in Orlando, Florida. Now, there may be quite a few '69 Camaro Pace Cars for sale with the small block 350 engines. But it is rare to find one with the L78 396/375 hp like this one. They believe only a few hundred of the L78 big block cars were produced for sale through Chevrolet dealers. The special edition Camaro RS/SS Z11 is the most popular Indy Pace Car edition of all time. So the L78 versions are very valuable to muscle car collectors.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in May:

verticle spring
1969 Camaro Pace Car

1969 Camaro Pace Car

Big month for Indy Pace Car sales. SOLD in Virginia.

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Olds Pace Car

Oldsmobile Cutlass Indy Pace Car Convertible SOLD in New York.

verticle spring
xxx

1957 Buick Special

Rare convertible show car SOLD in Sherman, CT

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Plymouth Cuda

440 6 Pack with Shaker SOLD by a Texas collector

verticle spring
xxx 1941 Willys Pro Street

 

A clean high quality Pro Street sold by a California collector

June 2018
xxx
'65 Dragonsnake

Show More twirly-arrow

While Carroll Shelby's Cobras were dominating the FIA road racing coarses overseas, back home some racers were taking them to the drag strip. The result was the Shelby Cobra Dragonsnake program, and another episode in American car collecting was born. Only four of these Dragonsnake Cobras were ever sold to the public. In June, Legendary Motorcar Company was offering this 1965 Shelby Cobra Dragonsnake, CSX 2472, which Shelby American had built the Cobra as part of their own racing program, although it was never used until private owners bought it. A detailed history is available here on the MyDreamCar.online blog.

xxx
1955 Mercedes Gullwing

Show More twirly-arrow

It is not often that we get a million-dollar 1955 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Gullwing in our listings. But most often when we do it will be listed by Peter Kumar's Gullwing Motor Cars of Astoria, New York. Just like their name implies, they do seem to acquire their share of Mercedes-Benz classic Gullwings. A 300SL Gullwing would have to be considered one of the top ten collector cars of all time. Offered in its incredibly attractive original color of silver grey metallic withblue leather interior it is quite unique. Click here to find a history on Mercedes Gullwing sports cars, including production numbers and product years.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

xxx
1970 Hemi Superbird

Show More twirly-arrow

We were really impressed when Legendary Motorcar Company, a world class collector car dealer and restoration shop, listed three Hemi Mopars in one week late in June 2018. We just had to feature this 1970 Plymouth Hemi Superbird in the newsletter that week. Said to be one of only 135 Hemi Superbirds produced in 1970, everybody knows the Superbird was homolagated for NASCAR racing. They could hold the corners on NASCAR super speedways better than any other car. They were banned from NASCAR by 1971, ending the aero car's short history. Follow this link to learn more about NASCAR homolagation for the Superbirds.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in June:

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Superbird

With a U Code 440, 4-spd SOLD in New York

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Hemi Cuda

SOLD in Prior Lake, MN, came with Dave Wise Inspection

verticle spring
xxx

1933 Ford Coupe

Jet black show rod, SOLD in Florida.

verticle spring
xxx

1939 Ford Convertible

Sweet looking resto rod SOLD in Ukiah, California

verticle spring
xxx

1939 Ford Woodie

Award winning Woodie Wagon SOLD in Missouri

verticle spring
xxx

1941 Willys Coupe

Blown 468, 590 hp, SOLD in Valley City, OH

verticle spring
xxx

Wild '34 3-Window

Flamed 1934 Ford 3-Window Coupe, SOLD in California

verticle spring
xxx

1969 Hurst Olds

Documented and authentic, SOLD in Lonsdale, MN

verticle spring
xxx

1974 Jaguar Roadster

Rare E-Type V12 advertised in a video ad

July 2018
xxx
Ferrari Daytona

Show More twirly-arrow

Enzo Ferrari was so miffed at losing to Ford in major Grand Prix races and the 24 Hours of Daytona in the late 1960's that he came out with his new 365 GTB/4 V-12's. This Fly Yellow 1971 Ferrari 365 GTB/4 Daytona was listed by The Last Detail in North Chicago, Illinois.  They tell us it comes from one of the finest collections of Chicago’s North Shore area. They tell us it is all numbers matching which means the Columbo V-12 engine would be original. For more history on the Ferrari Daytona follow this link to our MyDreamCar.online blog where we have more statistics and history to talk about.

xxx
1958 Impala Convertible

Show More twirly-arrow

In a mid-July newsletter, Cars-On-Line.com declared the 1958 Chevrolet Impala Convertible with the 348 Tripower as more desirable than the American icon, the 1957 Chevy Bel Air Convertible. That was a significant turn in the market. The 1958 Chevrolet Impala was a unique, one-year only design for the ages. This exceptionally beautiful example was listed by Vanguard Motor Sales in Plymouth, Michigan. We know the car sold soon after it was listed so the photos and videos are no longer available. But you can compare market values in our latest edition of the COL Market Trends report.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in July:

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Boss 429

Mustang muscle car SOLD by a private owner in Connecticut

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Superbird

Vitamin C Plymouth Superbird SOLD in Massachusetts

verticle spring
xxx

1969 GTO Judge

SOLD in just one day on COL, Wisconsin man told us

verticle spring
xxx

'57 Chevy Convertible

New York collector sells his Bel Air with 283 V8 Power Pack

August 2018
Gone Mad '55 Chevy Nomad
Gone Mad '55 Chevy Nomad

Show More twirly-arrow

Classic Car Studio's Speed Shop produced the "Gone Mad" 1955 Chevy Nomad that came our way in Mid-August of 2018. It toured in the upper echelons of the NSRA Street Rod Nationals where it earned notoriety for breaking the mold of custom Tri-Five builds with ultimate Mod Rod styling and cutting edge performance. This one's a true work of art, with a intricately built Shafirrof Racing 509 producing 625 horsepower.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

Auburn-Cord-Duesenberg Festival 2018
A-C-D Festival 2018

Show More twirly-arrow

At the end of August, COL's car show team attended the Auburn-Cord-Duesenberg Festival held every fall in Auburn, Indiana. This is one to put on your bucket list. Our team covered the RM Collector Car Auction. In addition, we got photos and video at the Concours in Eckhart Park, the Parade of Classics in downtown Auburn and visited the A-C-D Museum. You can review the photos and videos at our ClassicCarNews blog page. The Auburn-Cord-Duesenberg Festival happens every year on Labor Day Weekend.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in August:

verticle spring
xxx

1969 Boss 302

One of two Boss 302 Mustangs SOLD the first week in August.

verticle spring
xxx

1966 Chevelle SS

A real SS 396/360 hp with only 35k miles, SOLD in August

verticle spring
xxx

1963 Split Window

Desirable Corvette Split Window SOLD early August.

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Challenger R/T

Rare Mopar convertible, one of only 19 produced

verticle spring
xxx

1955 Chevy Nomad

California Nomad was a good deal when it SOLD in August.

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Chevelle LS6

Nice Autumn Gold 454/450 hp monster big block

verticle spring
xxx

1968 Dodge Charger

A high end custom resto mod was SOLD in Chula Vista, CA

verticle spring
xxx

1955 Chevy Nomad

Original looking Nomad with custom resto mod ride.

verticle spring
xxx

1930 Packard Cpe RS

A Canadian collector SOLD this rare classic Packard.

verticle spring
xxx

1970 Pontiac Trans Am

Another Canadian collector SOLD his rare Pontiac muscle car.

September 2018
1951 Muntz Jet
1951 Muntz Jet

Show More twirly-arrow

Would you believe this 1951 Muntz Jet was said to be faster than a Jaguar during its time? That's what Earl "Mad Man" Muntz advertised to reporters and radio listeners of the day. Readers of the Cars On Line Newsletter got to relive a little of that excitement when this beauty appeared as a banner car in early September. We're happy to report that it SOLD, though probably not for the original retail price of $5,500. Still, that was more than Cadillac or Lincolns at the time!

1970 Pontiac GTO Judge RA IV
1970 Pontiac GTO Judge RA IV

Show More twirly-arrow

We've been privileged to feature some of the most prolific and recognizable muscle cars on the planet over the last year, but this 1970 Pontiac GTO Judge RA IV is definitely at the "top of the muscle car food chain." Restore A Muscle Car of Lincoln, Nebraska listed it in September. They said it was full numbers matching example, and a rare one at that. Just 627 were made with a Ram Air 4-speed cars produced. Only 325 were made with a manual transmission. After some precision work, this beast has a rebuilt engine that runs as well today as it did when it rolled off the factory floor.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

Wavecrest Woodie Show 2018
Wavecrest Woodie Show 2018

Show More twirly-arrow

The locale doesn't get much more idyllic than in Encinitas, California where some of the world's best woodies lined up for their moment in front of the camera. The Wavecrest Woodie Show takes place on the historic Hwy 101 in view of the Pacific Ocean and we were happy to bring you some of the sights. This year's show featured more than 100 woodies, making it the largest gathering of its type in the world!

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in September:

verticle spring
xxx

1966 Chevy Nova

Pro Touring car, LS2 550 hp, Alston rear, SOLD in Canada

verticle spring
xxx

1969 Camaro RS Z/28

Top-o-the-line '69 Camaro, SOLD in Eagle River, WI

verticle spring
xxx

1958 Chevy Impala

Most sought after Chevrolet Convertible, SOLD in CT

verticle spring
xxx

1963 Corvette Fuelie

Convertible 327/360 hp fuelie SOLD in Mandeville, LA

verticle spring
xxx

1956 Chevy Nomad

Nice restoration, 283 Power Pack SOLD in New Berlin, WI

verticle spring
xxx

1966 Chevelle SS

Rare 396/360 hp 4-spd, fresh resto, SOLD in Minnesota

verticle spring
xxx

2001 Ford F650

Caterpillar diesel, 52" tires, SOLD in Acworth, GA

verticle spring
xxx

1934 Ford Hot Rod

SOLD by Vanguard Motor Sales in Michigan.

verticle spring
xxx

2015 Corvette Z06

Only 6,700 miles, SOLD in Sterlington, LA

verticle spring
xxx

1957 Chevy Bel Air

Iconic convertible w/283 Power Pack, SOLD in Montgomery, TX

verticle spring
xxx

1965 Pontiac GTO

Convertible was the 2018 GTOAA Gold Concours winner

October 2018
Tin Woody Show Car
Tin Woody Show Car

Show More twirly-arrow

Right off the heels of the Wavecrest Woodie Show in September came this 1950 Tin Woody Show Car presented by R&H Motor Car Group of Solon, Ohio. It is full of unique features like a GM 502 with Hilborn fuel injection and stunning Brad Starks stacks and aluminum heads. You can see it in the ad, which features dozens of stunning photographs. It's a Grand National Winner you won't want to miss if you didn't see it in our newsletter early in October.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

1960 Chevrolet Impala
1960 Chevrolet Impala

Show More twirly-arrow

Here's a 1960 Chevrolet Impala that has it all. KC Classic Autos listed it for sale in mid-October and it was an easy pick for a Cars On Line feature story. The ad included photos of the 348 big block motor with tripower triple deuce carbs and correct air cleaner, the same combination that many believe kicked off the muscle car era! The Impala had an undeniable impact on the 60s that sent ripples we can still feel today.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

1928 Packard Eight Phaeton
1928 Packard Eight Phaeton

Show More twirly-arrow

Many people, even younger generations, prefer the styling of a classic car to anything available today. But even among classics, cars like this 1928 Packard Eight Phaeton stand a cut above the rest. It boasts Art Deco styling out of the Great Gatsby era that is unlike anything else before or since. Daniel Schmitt & Company of St. Louis, Missouri listed this one for sale and it became the last Cars On Line Feature of October. Read more about it in the Cars On Line MyDreamCar.online blog post!

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in October:

verticle spring
xxx

1912 Ford Model T

The first week in October, a wonderful Touring Car SOLD.

verticle spring
xxx

Rambler SCrambler

A 1969 AMC Hurst SC Rambler was SOLD in Minnesota

verticle spring
xxx

1967 Shelby GT500

Real GT500 in the Registry SOLD in Arvada, CO

verticle spring
xxx

1933 Ford 3-Window

Show car with stack injection SOLD in Houma, LA

verticle spring
xxx

1966 Shelby GT350

Real Sapphire blue GT350 SOLD in Canada

verticle spring
xxx

1969 GTO Judge

Restored GTO Judge SOLD in North Carolina

November 2018
Hilton Head Island Concours Weekend
Hilton Head Island Concours Weekend

Show More twirly-arrow

The first weekend of November gave us the Hilton Head Island Concours! The 17th annual event included a 1932 Stutz DV-32 LeBaron Convertible Victoria which earned Best in Show at the Concours d'Elegance and is the only one known to exist today. We featured all of the shows winners in the ClassiCar News blog by Cars On Line. You can see some of the colorful characters and show goers there. And of course, the best offerings from more than twenty car clubs around the country!

1950 Kurtis Sport Car
1950 Kurtis Sport Car

Show More twirly-arrow

This 1950 Kurtis Sport Car has the distinction of being the only one Cars On Line has ever had on our website! The legendary Frank Kurtis built just 16 according to the seller, Legendary Motorcar Company. Benefiting from a Concours-level restoration, this Kurtis is looking better than ever with polished trim and re-chromed bumpers. It's still for sale, so don't miss this opportunity to get a look at one of the most incredible and fascinating collector cars of the year!

1960 Pontiac Bonneville
1960 Pontiac Bonneville

Show More twirly-arrow

"Only the huge American interstate highway system could justify such a bodacious road car." We're of course talking about this 1960 Pontiac Bonneville from a late-November edition of the Cars On Line Newsletter. It hails from Cloud 9 Classics and features a hard-to-find Continental Kit that looks great and works correctly. There's also a tri-tone leather interior, one of the nicest Pontiac ever designed by our account. If you click through to the ad, you'll also get a look at the original owner's manual, dealer brochures, and the data plate. All in all, it's a well sorted example of exactly the kind of car that makes the collector car community buzz.

vote for Car-of-the-Year 2018This is one of our picks to be considered for the 2018 Cars of the Year. Our readers choose the Cars of the Year each year at this time. You can click on the Vote symbol shown here to vote for our top car this year. Your vote counts. Vote now.

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in November:

verticle spring
xxx

1971 Boss 351

Boss 351 Mustang w/NASA hood SOLD in Illinois

verticle spring
xxx

1969 Boss 429

Super rare Boss 9 muscle car SOLD in Pottstown, PA

verticle spring
xxx

2012 Camaro ZL1

700 hp ZL1 w/only 17k miles SOLD in Pittsburg, PA

December 2018
Steve McQueen's Hudson
Steve McQueen's Hudson

Show More twirly-arrow

We're still soaring through December, but we think it'll be hard to top this 1950 Hudson Custom Commodore Six Brougham Convertible. Daniel Schmitt & Company say it was once owned by none other than Steve McQueen. McQueen owned three other Hudsons in addition to this one, which he upgraded with the famous Hudson Twin H-Power carbs. This the one he kept until his death in 1980. Like the celebrity himself, you might be hard pressed to find a classic car with as much charm as this one. But subscribe to the Cars On Line Newsletter to find out!

Here are some of the special cars that SOLD in December:

verticle spring
1957 Buick Roadmaster

1957 Buick Roadmaster

Scottsdale collector marks his Roadmaster Convertible SOLD

verticle spring
1972 Ferrari Dino GTS

1972 Ferrari Dino

Gullwing Motor Cars told us this rare Dino GTS was SOLD

verticle spring
xxx

1969 Camaro Pace Car

A real L78 396/375 hp RS/SS Indy Pace Car SOLD in Dec 2018

verticle spring
xxx

2010 Corvette Grand Sport

"Very happy with Cars-On-Line," Illinois seller says.

Cars On Line's CAR of the YEAR

Back again in 2018 is the Cars One Line.com Car of the Year poll! This is where you, our readers, vote on which car you think deserve to be named the Cars On Line.com CAR OF THE YEAR! We'll reveal the winner in our last newsletter of 2018! Your vote counts, so be sure to click here and vote for your choice.

Thank You

Thanks for reading Cars On Line ads. We really appreciate the community of car enthusiasts who read our website daily to keep up on what's for sale. This newsletter is designed to make your efforts a little easier and give you a shot at the great deals when they first hit our pages.

Click Here to Place an Ad on Cars On Line

Click Here to see the Cars On Line Homepage

For more info, call 1-800-880-5105.

DISCLAIMER: Readers should be aware that the editiorial comments made in this newsletter are strictly the opinion of the author, Larry Kolb. Mr. Kolb offers his editorial opinion of the marketability of these cars based on information provided by the sellers. Neither Mr. Kolb nor Cars On Line.com has seen or inspected these cars. These comments are not to be mistaken for advertising, nor should they be considered an endorsement of any product. They are strictly editorial in nature. Neither Mr. Kolb nor Cars On Line will profit from the sale of any of the cars mentioned here. No warranty of these vehicles is implied or given. It is strongly recommended that anyone interested in the purchase of these vehicles should have them inspected before the sale.

Cars On Line - PO Box 537 - Menomonee Falls, WI 53052-0537